English Department Award for Excellence as a Teaching Assistant

William Caldwell

English Department Teaching Excellence Award, Co-Winner Kara Johnson

English Department Teaching Excellence Award, Co-Winner Hosanna Krienke

Jean Hagstrum Prize for Best Dissertation, Co-Winner Chris Shirley "Reading by Hand: Manuscript Poetry and Reader Identity in Early Modern England."

Jean Hagstrum Prize for Best Dissertation, Co-Winner

Jade Werner "The Gospel and the Globe: Missionary Enterprises and the Cosmopolitan Imagination, 1795-1860."

J. Scott Clark Scholarship Aozora Brockman in creative writing.

Edwin L. Shuman Award for Creative Nonfiction, Second Place

Sophie Jacob "Notes from Vietnam."

Edwin L Shuman Award for Creative Nonfiction, First Place

Julie Lunde "The Plural of Fish."

English Department Prize for Creative Nonfiction, Second Place Michael Chin "River's Tale."

English Department Prize for Creative Nonfiction, First Place Joan Sergay "The Weiner's Circle."

Helen G. Scott Prize for Creative Nonfiction, Second Place Katherine Koller "Enjoying Sex Ed."

Helen G. Scott Prize for Creative Nonfiction, First Place Arabella Watters "Nostomania."

Edwin L. Shuman Award for Fiction, Co-Winner Sunjay Kumar "Late July 2014, Istanbul."

Edwin L. Shuman Award for Fiction, Co-Winner Daniel Moynihan "Fortificaiton."

English Department Prize for Fiction

Nastasya Popov "Terminal Island."

Helen G. Scott Prize for Fiction Shuoyang Sun "Lionfish."

Jean Meyer Aloe Prize from the Academy of American Poets

Aozora Brockman "Butchering."

Faricy Award for Poetry, Third Place

Matt Levin "On Titian's Portrait of Filippo Archinto."

Faricy Award for Poetry, Second Place

Shuoyang Sun "Distorted Memories."

Faricy Award for Poetry, First Place

Ali Gardezi "Journey to the Arsoned Home."

Robert A. Dentler Award for Best Poem

Rachel A. Girty "This is Not a Requiem."

Harriet Gilliam Memorial Prize for an outstanding essay on psychological or

Solveig Herzum

"The Traumatic Experience: Trauma in A Passage to India, Freud, and Caruth."

Helen G. Scott Prize for an outstanding critical essay on literary criticism and theory Jason Richman

"Sexual Landscapes in the Cinema: An Analysis of Ilinx, Mimesis, and Symbolic Sexuality in DreamWorks' *How to Train Your Dragon.*"

Robert A. Dentler Award for an outstanding essay on poetry

Alexandra Becker

"'One Who Does Not Speak Greek' Politics of Language in U.S.- Mexico Relations."

Helen G. Scott Prize for an outstanding critical essay on American literature

Emily Fishkin

"The Body Electric: Music, Electricity, and the Search for Agency in Ellison's *The Invisible Man*."

Helen G. Scott Prize for an outstanding critical essay on British literature

Karen Gwee "Fighting Anthropomorphism in the Stories of Reynard the Fox."

Edwin L. Shuman Award for an outstanding critical essay

Chelsey Moler "Dealing with 'Real Emotions': the Burdensome Male Gaze in *Her*."

English Department Prize for an outstanding critical essay

Kyle Allen-Niesen

"Globalization, Oceans, and Robert Redford: J.C. Chandor's *All is Lost* as Allegory for the State of the American Dream."

Helen G. Scott Prize for Best Research Paper on Literature, Co-Winner

Jessica Bickel-Barlow

"Maiden Texts: Female Sexuality and Male Authorship in William Shakespeare and John Fletcher."

Helen G. Scott Prize for Best Research Paper on Literature, Co-Winner Carly Bluth "Ecocriticism, Entropy, and the Gothic in Poe's Fiction."

Helen G. Scott Prize for Best Research Paper on Literature, Co-Winner

Hannah Bredar "Prospero's Crucible: Failures of Alchemy and Colonialism in *The Tempest.*"

Helen G. Scott Prize for Best Research Paper on Literature, Co-Winner

Will Ejzak

"Hideously Incompatible: Solipsism and Gendered Selfhood in the Fiction of David Foster Wallace."

Edwin L. Shuman Award for Best Honors Thesis in Literature

Chelsey Moler "The Politics of Narration: Reading Stranger-Suitors in Austen and Burney."

Edwin L. Shuman Award for Best Junior in Literature, Co-Winner

Caroline Brown excellence in the major.

Edwin L. Shuman Award for Best Junior in Literature, Co-Winner

Bethany Mueller in the Literature Major.

Edwin L. Shuman Award for Best Junior in Literature, Co-Winner

Manal Saleh in the Literature Major.

Edwin L. Shuman Award for Best Senior in Literature Jessica Bickel-Barlow in the Literature Major.

Edwin L. Shuman Award for Best Junior in Creative Writing Erin Holiday in the Creative Writing major.

Edwin L. Shuman Award for Best Honors Thesis in Creative Writing

Hillary Aarons "Reverse Evaporation."

Edwin L Shuman Award for Best Senior in Creative Writing

Paul Riker in the Creative Writing major.